داخل
أديكس / باركر

تحديثات الحالة

الاجتماع الأخير العظيم ، الخصائص "التمثيلية" في التقاضي ، واجتماع قاعة المدينة الجديد في 11 يناير 2018

شكرا جزيلا لكل من حضر.

استضاف فريق القيادة في Irvine & Conner PLLC و Burns Charest LLP اجتماعا في قاعة المدينة لمدة ثلاث ساعات في غرفة مكتظة. جاء ضحايا الفيضانات في المنبع من الأحياء عبر كل من خزانات Addicks و Barker للتعرف على القضية وطرح الأسئلة ومقابلة المحامين المسؤولين عن طلب الإغاثة من الحكومة لجميع ضحايا الفيضانات في المنبع.

بقي المحامون وتحدثوا مع الحاضرين حتى تمت الإجابة على كل سؤال. وبعد ذلك، أمضى المحامون اليوم التالي في زيارة ضحايا الفيضانات في منازلهم والاستماع إلى قصصهم.

تقييم الممتلكات "التمثيلية" في التقاضي.

كما أشرنا في رسالتنا الإلكترونية السابقة ، تتوقع المحكمة من المحامين والحكومة تبسيط التقاضي. للقيام بذلك ، ستستخدم القيادة "خصائص تمثيلية" (تسمى أحيانا "خصائص الاختبار") والتي ستكون الخصائص التي ستخضع للمحاكمة بناء على الأسس الموضوعية. في الوقت المناسب ، سيطلب فريقنا القانوني من المحكمة معاملة القضايا التمثيلية على أنها "فئة" بحيث ، إذا نجحت حالات الاختبار ، فإن جميع ضحايا الفيضانات في المنبع يستفيدون من حكم المسؤولية ضد الحكومة. بالنسبة لأولئك العملاء الذين ليسوا "ملكية تمثيلية" ، سيتم رفع قضيتك إلى المحكمة ، مع تقديم معلوماتك الأساسية. لا يزال لدى كل عميل أضرار لحسابها والعمل. سنعمل على الأضرار الفردية لكل عميل أثناء متابعة حالات الاختبار. جميع ضحايا الفيضانات الذين ليسوا "ملكية تمثيلية" سيكونون على نفس المسار.

نود تحديد خصائص تمثيلية إضافية للتقييم في الفئات التالية:

  1. المصالح التجارية (مثل مطعم أو متجر) ؛
    2. العقارات الاستثمارية.
    3. منازل من طابقين يعيش فيها المالك في الطابق العلوي بعد هارفي ؛
    4. إعادة بناء / إصلاح الهياكل بالكامل.
    5. العقارات المباعة منذ الفيضان أو للبيع الآن.

إذا كنت تندرج ضمن إحدى هذه الفئات (أو كنت تعرف شخصا يفعل ذلك) ، فيرجى الاتصال بنا وإخبارنا بالفئة الأنسب. نتوقع أن يكون هناك ما بين 10 إلى 20 عقارا تعمل كخصائص اختبار لتمثيل أصحاب المنازل والشركات الموجودة في المنبع أو خلف سدود Addicks و Barker. سنقوم بتقييم هذه الخيارات المختلفة للحالات التمثيلية.

في اجتماعنا يوم الخميس من هذا الأسبوع ، سنشرح بالتفصيل عملية استخدام الخصائص التمثيلية.

اجتماع قاعة المدينة التالي: الخميس 11 يناير الساعة 6:00 مساء.

لم يكن لدينا متسع للوقوف إلا في اجتماعنا في نهاية الأسبوع الماضي، لذلك نريد أن نفتح الأبواب مرة أخرى لاستيعاب الأسئلة الإضافية. سنعقد جلسة إعلامية أخرى لضحايا الفيضانات في المنبع الذين يرغبون في التعرف على حالة القضية ، وعملية "الملكية التمثيلية" ، وخطط استرداد الأضرار الفردية.

سيعقد الاجتماع في 11 يناير ، بدءا من الساعة 6:00 مساء ، في فور بوينتس باي شيراتون هيوستن إنرجي كوريدور ، الواقع في 18861 كاتي فريواي ، هيوستن ، تكساس 77094. هنا رابط للموقع.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، قمنا بإعداد أماكن مختلفة للحصول على المعلومات و / أو إرسال الأسئلة إلينا. لا تتردد في الوصول إلى هذه الموارد و / أو تمريرها (أو حتى هذا البريد الإلكتروني) إلى جيرانك. سيكون نشر الخبر حول القضية واجتماعاتنا عونا كبيرا لنا ولضحايا الفيضانات المتضررين في المنبع.

كما هو الحال دائما ، لا تتردد في الاتصال بالرقم 713-533-1704 أو 888-248-5215 ، أو إرسال بريد إلكتروني addicksbarker@irvineconner.com أو harvey@burnscharest.com مع أي أسئلة.

GREAT LAST MEETING, “REPRESENTATIVE” PROPERTIES IN THE LITIGATION, & NEW TOWN HALL MEETING ON JANUARY 11, 2018

A Big Thank You for Everyone Who Attended.

The leadership team of Irvine & Conner PLLC and Burns Charest LLP hosted a three-hour town hall meeting to a packed room. Upstream flood victims came from neighborhoods across both Addicks and Barker reservoirs to learn about the case, ask questions, and meet the lawyers responsible for seeking relief from the Government for all the upstream flood victims.

The lawyers stayed and spoke with attendees until every question had been answered. And, after that, the lawyers spent the next day visiting flood victims in their home and hearing their stories.

Evaluating ‘Representative’ Properties in the Litigation.

As we noted in our prior email, the Court expects the attorneys and the government to streamline the litigation. To do so, the leadership will use ‘representative properties’ (sometimes called ‘test properties’) which will be the properties that go to trial on the merits. At the appropriate time, our legal team will ask the Court to treat the representative cases as a ‘class’ so that, if the test cases are successful, then all upstream flood victims benefit from a liability finding against the government. For those clients who are not a ‘representative property,’ your case will be filed with the Court, with your basic information submitted. Each client still has damages to calculate and work up. We will work on the individualized damages for each client while the test cases proceed. All flood victims that are not a ‘representative property’ will be on this same track.

We would like to identify additional representative properties for evaluation in the following categories:

  1. commercial interests (such as a restaurant or a store);
    2. investment properties;
    3. two-story homes in which the owner lives upstairs after Harvey;
    4. completely rebuilt/repaired structures;
    5. properties sold since the flood or for sale now.

If you fit into one of these categories (or you know someone who does), please contact us and tell us which category best fits. We expect there will be between 10 to 20 properties that serve as test properties to represent the homeowners and business that are upstream of, or behind, Addicks and Barker Dams. We will evaluate these various options for the representative cases.

At our meeting on Thursday of this week, we will explain in detail the process of using representative properties.

NEXT Town Hall Meeting: Thursday, January 11 at 6:00 PM.

We had standing room only at our meeting last weekend, so we want to open the doors again to accommodate additional questions. We will hold another information session for upstream flood victims who want to learn about the status of the case, the ‘representative property’ process, and the plans for recovery of individual damages.

The meeting will be on January 11, starting at 6:00 PM, at the Four Points by Sheraton Houston Energy Corridor, located at 18861 Katy Freeway, Houston, Texas 77094. Here is a link to the location.

In addition, we have set up different places to get information and/or send us questions. Please feel free to access these resources and/or pass them (or even this email) along to your neighbors. Getting the word out about the case and our meetings will be a big help to us and the affected upstream flood victims.

As always, please feel free to call 713-533-1704 or 888-248-5215, or email addicksbarker@irvineconner.com or harvey@burnscharest.com with any questions.