裡面
阿迪克斯/巴克

案例更新

“主人”投訴,測試財產流程和下一次市政廳會議

主投訴和測試屬性流程。 

正如我們在之前的電子郵件中所描述的,法院已敦促簡化所有洪水案件的程式。法院希望各方使用「測試屬性」 而不是進行數千次審判,以便每個人的案件通過法院系統進行。使用「測試屬性」將推動有關政府責任問題的訴訟,而其他案件則被擱置。1月16日星期二,我們針對上游案件提交了“主投訴”,基於13個客戶,這些客戶願意作為測試物業,並反映了Addicks和Barker大壩背後的各種不同的洪水經歷(不同數量的洪水,不同類型的業主,不同的位置)。《休斯頓紀事報》在這裡寫了這篇文章。

以下是我們提交的主投訴的重要內容:我們要求作為「測試屬性」的客戶擔任集體訴訟的「集體代表」。。因為每個人都出於同樣的原因淹沒在阿迪克斯和巴克大壩後面——陸軍設計的水壩和水庫比政府購買的土地還要多——我們應該能夠使用集體訴訟程式,只用我們選擇的測試案例數量,就能為成千上萬的人帶來責任結果。集體訴訟是“贏得”每個淹沒在阿迪克斯/巴克大壩後面的人的最佳方式,如果我們“贏得”軍團責任的測試案例。但我們的情況不是典型的集體訴訟,因為這個階段的重點是責任。人們的損害會有所不同。我們正在單獨處理客戶的損害賠償。

請注意,我們仍在審核「備用」測試屬性的候選人,以防政府要求其他測試屬性。因此,如果您有興趣作為備份,請告訴我們。

把話說出去。

我們知道這場訴訟將如何展開,我們希望宣傳這場訴訟正在迅速發展。請在Facebook,Nextdoor或只是口耳相傳上向您的鄰居傳播這個詞 - 無論需要什麼。以下是關於我們是誰以及我們為案件計劃什麼的提醒:

我們的法律團隊法院任命我們的律師擔任上游案件的6個領導職位中的3個。 (我們很高興與您分享法院的任命令。我們的團隊由具有洪水訴訟經驗的環境律師Irvine & Conner和處理高風險訴訟的複雜訴訟公司Burns Charest組成。此外,我們團隊的律師之一拉裡·鄧巴(Larry Dunbar)也是一名工程師/水文學家。此外,我們認為值得一提的是,我們之前就與阿迪克斯有關的問題起訴了陸軍軍團,因此我們非常了解水庫以及為什麼軍團淹沒了您的私人財產。

我們對此案例的策略:我們有各種不同的客戶——房主、租房者、房東、投資物業、企業、店面和房主協會。制定一個為每個人尋求救濟的計劃很重要,我們相信使用關於責任的“集體訴訟”程序是實現這一目標的最佳方式。在責任階段向前推進的同時,我們計劃與所有客戶合作,根據個人情況評估他們的損害賠償。此外,我們已經聘請了我們的專家來評估每個人的損失。(有趣的故事:政府試圖聘請我們的洪水損害專家 - 但我們已經保留了他!

我們與客戶的互動:我們的應急費用為25%,客戶無需支付任何費用。如果我們在您的索賠中勝訴,那麼您將保留法院判給您的任何金額的 75%。 其他律師可能會要求更高的費用或讓您支付費用,因此請閱讀細則!並提出問題!

市政廳會議:1月27日星期六中午。 

在我們的市政廳會議上,我們解釋了上游洪水發生的原因,陸軍部隊知道什麼,以及我們的訴訟計劃是什麼。我們將討論案件的狀態,當然,回答問題。我們經常開會。

下一次會議將於 1 月 27 日下午 12:00 開始,地點為位於德克薩斯州休斯頓凱蒂高速公路 18861 號凱蒂高速公路 77094 的福朋喜來登休斯頓能源走廊。這是該位置的連結

此外,我們還設置了不同的地方來獲取資訊和/或向我們發送問題。請隨時訪問這些資源和/或將它們(甚至此電子郵件)傳遞給您的鄰居。宣傳此案和我們的會議將對我們和受影響的上游洪水受害者有很大説明。

與往常一樣,如有任何問題,請隨時致電713-533-1704或888-248-5215,或發送電子郵件給 addicksbarker@irvineconner.comharvey@burnscharest.com

“MASTER” COMPLAINT, TEST PROPERTY PROCESS, AND NEXT TOWN HALL MEETING

Master Complaint and Test Property Process. 

As we have described in earlier emails, the Court has urged a streamlined process for all the flooding cases. The Court expects the parties to use “test properties” rather than hold thousands of trials for everyone’s case to proceed through the court system. Using “test properties” will move the litigation forward on the issue of the Government’s liability, while other cases are on hold. On Tuesday January 16, we filed a “Master Complaint” for the upstream cases based on 13 clients who were willing to serve as test properties and who reflect a variety of different flooding experiences behind the Addicks and Barker Dams (different amounts of flooding, different types of property owners, different locations). The Houston Chronicle wrote about it here.

Here is what is important about the Master Complaint we filed: We asked our clients who are “test properties” to serve as “class representatives” for a class action. Because everyone flooded behind Addicks and Barker Dams for the same reason—the Army Corps designed the dams and reservoirs to hold more water than the Government purchased land—we should be able to use the class action procedure to achieve liability results for thousands of people with only the number of test cases we selected. The class action is the best way to “win” for everyone who flooded behind Addicks/Barker dams if we “win” for the test cases on the Corps’ liability. But our case is not a typical class action because this phase focuses on liability. People’s damages will differ. We are handling the damages of our clients on an individual basis.

Please note that we are still reviewing candidates for “back up” test properties, in case the government requests additional test properties. So if you are interested in serving as a back up, please let us know.

Getting the Word Out.

We know how this litigation will unfold, and we want to get the word out that this lawsuit is progressing apace. Please spread the word to your neighbors on Facebook, Nextdoor, or just word of mouth—whatever it takes. Here is a reminder about who we are and what we plan for the case:

OUR LEGAL TEAM: The Court appointed our lawyers to 3 of the 6 leadership positions for the upstream cases. (We are happy to share the Court’s appointment order with you.) Our team is comprised of environmental attorneys with experience in flooding litigation—Irvine & Conner—and a complex litigation firm that handles high stakes litigation—Burns Charest. In addition, one of our team’s lawyers, Larry Dunbar, is also an engineer/hydrologist. Also, we think it’s worth mentioning that we sued the Army Corps before on issues related to Addicks, so we understand the reservoirs very well and why the Corps flooded your private property.

OUR STRATEGY FOR THIS CASE: We have a variety of different clients—homeowners, renters, landlords, investment properties, businesses, storefronts, and Homeowners Associations. It is important to have a plan to seek relief for everyone, and we believe using the “class action” procedure on liability provides the best way to do this. While the liability phase runs forward, we plan to work with all of our clients to evaluate their damages on an individual basis. Also, we have already hired our experts for evaluating everyone’s damages. (Funny story: the Government tried to hire our flooding damages expert—but we already had him retained!)

OUR ENGAGEMENT WITH CLIENTS: Our contingency fee is 25% and the client pays no expenses. If we are successful in your claim, then you keep 75% of whatever the Court awards to you.  Other lawyers may be asking higher fees or make you pay the expenses, so read the fine print! And ask questions!

Town Hall Meeting: Saturday, January 27 at noon. 

At our town hall meetings, we explain why the upstream flooding happened, what the Army Corps knew, and what our plan for the lawsuit is. We will discuss the status of the case and, of course, take questions. We have frequent meetings.

The next meeting will be on January 27, starting at 12:00 PM, at the Four Points by Sheraton Houston Energy Corridor, located at 18861 Katy Freeway, Houston, Texas 77094. Here is a link to the location.

In addition, we have set up different places to get information and/or send us questions. Please feel free to access these resources and/or pass them (or even this email) along to your neighbors. Getting the word out about the case and our meetings will be a big help to us and the affected upstream flood victims.

As always, please feel free to call 713-533-1704 or 888-248-5215, or email addicksbarker@irvineconner.com or harvey@burnscharest.com with any questions.